2011 State Hoop Shoot Results

The New York Elks Association Hoop Shoot Championship was held on Saturday, February 26, 2011 at Poughkeepsie Arlington High School. This year's contest was hosted by Poughkeepsie Lodge #275. The contestants and families members were treated to a complimentary pizza and wings party the evening before the contest. Following the contest, the Lodge provided a luncheon and award ceremony. Following the luncheon, welcoming statements were extended to those attending by State Hoop Shoot Chair John Edinger and Poughkeepsie Exalted Ruler Dorothy Shaffer. Former 4 time State Hoop Shoot Champion and 2004 National Champion Tom Meyerson was the quest speaker. He delivered an inspiring speech, sharing stories about his participation in the Hoop Shoot and the friendships he acquired through participation in the Hoop Shoot. Following his speech, Past State President Tim Kelly, event Coordinator Richard Long and Grand Lodge Hoop Shoot Regional Director Frank Bonner attended the contest and presented the awards. The contest had three overtime shoot outs, Jackson Watson, Boys 8-9, representing Olean Lodge # 491 had the boys high score of 23/25 while Riley Tupper, Girls 8-9, representing Southampton Lodge #1547, had the girls high score of 23/25. The winners of the Richard Heveron awards for making the most consecutive free throws were Joseph Girard, representing Glens Falls Lodge #81, in the boys division and Riley Tupper, representing Southampton Lodge #1547, in the girls division. The Youth Activities Committee extends a sincere thank you to State Hoop Shoot Chair John Edinger and State Contest Coordinator Richard Long of Poughkeepsie Lodge # 275 for their outstanding effort in organizing the contest. A special thank you is also extended to the members of Poughkeepsie Lodge #275 for their hospitality and for all their volunteer efforts at the contest and with the meal preparations. A thank you is also extended to NYSEA Empire State Editor Jack "Tex" McClurken for his assistance with photo taking. Contest results are as follows: Also Contributing to the success of this year's tournament were the following Lodge's, businesses and individuals that provided generous sponsorships by taking out program brochure ads: Poughkeepsie Lodge #275, Owego Lodge #1039, Malone Lodge #1303, Lyons Lodge #896, Mid Hudson District #6180 DDGER John Jacques, Norm's Auto Parts, East District State Trustee Arthur Bayen and PSVP Richie Smith, Glens Falls Lodge #81, Ellenville Lodge #1971, Lockport Lodge #41, Southampton Lodge #1574, Haverstraw Lodge #877, Middletown Lodge #1097, Ilion Lodge #1444, New Rochelle #756, Fulton Lodge #830, Hudson Lodge #787, Norwich Lodge #1222, Boonville Lodge #2158, Johnson City Lodge #2821, Liverpool Lodge #2348, Corning Lodge #1071, Liberty Lodge #1545, Mid-Hudson District Hoop Shoot Directors Dan Meyerson and Richard Long and Local Hoop Shoot Directors, Syracuse Elks Lodge #31, Bath Lodge #1547, Sidney Lodge #2175, Staten Island Lodge #841, Tom Meyerson, West Central District PER Association, Massapequa Lodge #2162, East District Elks, Mechanicville-Stillwater Lodge #1403, Guilderland Lodge #2480, Lowville Lodge #1605, and Catskill Lodge #1341. To each of the aforementioned - Thank you for supporting the 2011 State Hoop Shoot!!!

On behalf of State Hoop Shoot Chair John Edinger and the NYSEA, sincere congratulations are extended to each of the 24 contestants and especially this year's Champions: **Jackson Watson** (Boys 8-9), **Riley Tupper** (Girls 8-9), **Joseph Girard** (Boys 10-11), **Grace Thomas** (Girls 10-11), **Ryan Rolland** (Boys 12-13) and **Lilla Cerreta** (Girls 12-13). The contest results are as follows:

NYS Elks Association Hoop Shoot Winners: Poughkeepsie NY-February 26, 2011

Place	Contestant	Lodge	District	Score	Tiebreaker
8-9 Girls:					
1 st	Riley Tupper*	Southhampton #1547	East	23/25	
2 nd	Caiden Crego	Lyons #869	West Central	17/25	
3 rd	Emily Ingrassia	Saugerties #2574	North Hudson	11/25	
4 th	Emma Sehring	Utica #33	Central		
8-9 Boys:					
1 st	Jackson Watson	Olean #491	Southwest	22/25	
2 nd	Trenton Girard	Glens Falls #81	North	19/25	
3 rd	Matthew Mahoney	Yorktown #2324	Mid-Hudson	16/25	
4 th	Shaun Gillespie	Herkimer #1439	Central	14/25	
	•				
10-11 Girls:					
1 st	Grace Thomas	Owego #1039	South Central	22/25	4/5
2 nd	Amanda Pike	Watkins Glen #1546	Southern Tier	22/25	3/5
3rd	Jordan Lepes	Port Jervis #645	East Central	17/25	
3 rd	Allison Conti	Pearl River #2041	South	15/25	
10 11 Bove					
10-11 Boys: 1 st	Innanh Cirard*	Glens Falls #81	North	23/25	
2 nd	Joseph Girard*	Mamaroneck #1457	South	20/25	
∠ 3 rd	Benjamin Lubowitz Cameron Giruzzi	llion #1444	Central	15/25	
4 th			The state of the s		
4	Desmond Battin	Penn Yan #1722	Southern Tier	13/25	
12-13 Girls:					
1 st	Lilia Cerreta	Bronx/New Rochelle #758	South	19/25	7/10
2 nd	Tanisha Edge	Saugerties #2574	North Hudson	19/25	3/10
3 rd	Arielle Gary	Malone #1303	North Central	16/25	
4 th	Madison Gates	Watkins Glen #1546	Southern Tier	12/25	
12-13 Boys:					
1 st	Ryan Rolland	Syracuse #31	Ontario	21/25	
2 nd	Steven Celmins	Rotterdam #2157	State Capital	20/25	5/5
3 rd	Ben Terwilliger	Elmira #62	Southern Tier	20/25	4/5
4th	Zach Geneway	Patchogue #1323	East	18/25	

^{*} Designates winner of the Richard Heveron Award for the most consecutive shots.

Respectfully submitted, Tim Welpe NYSEA Youth Chair